بعثة دوق إدنبره

نيبال - فبراير 2020

التعليم مهم. نعلم جميعًا هذه الحقيقة، ولكن مهما بذلنا من جهد، لا يمكن تدريس كل شيء في غرفة الصف. بل تحتاج أحيانًا إلى الانطلاق إلى الأماكن الخارجية الرائعة والانغماس في الأماكن التي قرأت عنها فقط أو شاهدتها في الصور.

كانت رحلتنا إلى نيبال في فبراير من عام 2020 واحدة من أكثر البدايات صعوبة في السفر التي جربتُها على الإطلاق. فبينما كانت جائحة كورونا تبدأ تملأ الأنباء، بدأ الجميع فجأة يأخذ هذا الوضع العالمي بجدية أكبر، وبدأ يعطل السفر إلى بعض الدول. وقعت رحلة مدرسية أخرى إلى اليابان بالفعل ضحية لمخاوف الآباء بشأن السفر دوليًا، وقد بدأ هذا في التأثير على تسجيلنا لأننا لم نكن نعرف حقًا كيف سيسير الأمر في ذلك الوقت. وفي النهاية، كان عدد الطلاب الذين تم تسجيلهم في الرحلة كافياً حتى يتسنى لنا المضي قدمًا والمغادرة. كانت الرحلة على وشك الحدوث وكنا بحاجة إلى حزم أمتعتنا.

عقدنا اجتماعًا قبيل المغادرة في الصباح الباكر مع جميع العائلات والموظفين في المطار، بما في ذلك دليلنا مالكولم الذي سافر من المملكة المتحدة لتقييم الطلاب طوال رحلتهم. كان مالكولم، ذلك العملاق اللطيف الحقيقي الذي يمتلك مجموعة من الخبرات، واحدًا من تلك الشخصيات التي كان لها تأثير مهدئ على من حوله. من الواضح أن فرصة مقابلته في بداية الرحلة ساعدت الآباء على الشعور بثقة أكبر بشأن إرسال أطفالهم إلى نيبال لإكمال مهمتهم.

كانت الرحلة هادئة، وسادها المشهد المعتاد للوجوه التي تحدث في شاشات الهاتف وسماعات الأذن المثبتة في الأذنين، وسرعان ما عبرنا الجمارك مباشرة وسرنا باتجاه حافلتنا الصغيرة لتقلنا إلى الفندق. يحتوي باب الوصول في مطار كاتماندو على نافذة ضخمة يمكنك السير باتجاهها عند خروجك من المطار، وكانت هناك مئات الوجوه الملتصقة بالزجاج بحثًا عن الأصدقاء أو الأحباء. وفي ذلك الوقت، مازحت من حولي قائلاً إن المشهد وكأنه مشهد من فيلم زومبي، ولم تكن هذه أفضل مزحة في بداية الوباء، لكنني طالب في السينما وكان ذلك التشابه غريبًا. كان من الرائع رؤية الطلاب ينظرون حولهم وهم يستمتعون بالصخب والفوضى في المشهد. حتى الرحلة إلى وسط كاتماندو كانت تجربة رائعة بالنسبة إليهم حيث كان السائق يمر بالحافلة الصغيرة من خلال فجوات في حركة المرور بالكاد كانت تتسع لدراجة. هذه كاتماندو.

بدأ اليوم الأول بالسير في متاهة الشوارع التي تشكل مركز كاتماندو. تنتشر هناك جميع المتاجر المكتظة في شبكة الأزقة والطرق الضيقة والعديد من الباعة الجوالين الذين يحاولون بيع أي شيء من القبعات الصوفية إلى القيثارات. وعلى الرغم من صخب الحياة اليومية، كانت كاتماندو هادئة بشكل غريب مقارنة بزيارتي السابقة. لاحظت أنا والسيدة رينور قلة السياح حول المدينة، وكان من الواضح أن الناس لم يسافروا بالقدر المعتاد. وبعد أن ركب كل منا مقعده، عدنا إلى حديقة الفندق حيث أحضر منظمو الرحلة جميع المعدات التي يحتاجها الطلاب للرحلة. وهنا تمرنوا على إقامة الخيام وإعداد معدات الطهي، والنظر في الخرائط ووضع علامات على الرحلة حيث ساعدهم المرشدون في رسم مسارهم ومحطات شرب المياه المتاحة على طول الطريق.

وبمجرد أن رتبنا جميع المعدات ومشينا في الطريق، حان الوقت للتحدي. من يمكنه الحصول على أفضل صفقة؟! خذ مجموعة من الطلاب الذين اعتادوا التجول في بعض أكبر مراكز التسوق وأكثرها فخامة في العالم وأرسلهم إلى أعماق غابة التسوق في كاتماندو حيث المقايضة هي اللغة الوحيدة التي تحتاج إليها. سيكون هذا مسليًا!

عندما جلسنا جميعًا في الفندق، تبادلنا بعض القصص المرحة. من الواضح أن البعض كانت لديه قدرة كبيرة على المساومة والحصول على صفقات رائعة، على الرغم من أن البعض كان بحاجة إلى تعلّم الكثير عن التسوّق.

وعقب إحاطة سريعة من مالكولم حول ما يمكن توقعه في اليوم التالي، خلدنا جميعًا للنوم. كان من المفترض أن تبدأ الرحلة في الصباح وكان النوم الجيد ليلاً أمرًا ضروريًا.

سرنا في الصباح الباكر بالحافلة في رحلة عبر كاتماندو وخرجنا إلى الريف لأخذ لمحة عن الحياة الريفية وما تخبئه لنا نيبال. بدأت التلال والجبال في الظهور من خلال الضباب في الأفق، وبدأت المناظر الطبيعية في الانفتاح على مشهد رائع من اللون الأخضر. وبعد بضع ساعات، خرجنا وارتدينا حقائبنا للمرحلة الأولى من الرحلة. من الغبن القول إنها كانت رحلة جميلة وهادئة فحسب، فقد أعطانا الهواء النقي والمساحات الخضراء، وكذلك الارتفاع، موقعًا مثاليًا للتنزه. وكان الطقس لطيفًا أيضًا.

استغرق اليوم الأول ما يزيد قليلاً عن 5 ساعات، حيث قطعنا 10.6 كيلومترات وأعطى ذلك الطلابَ لمحة عما كانت تدور حوله هذه الرحلة. كانت هناك بعض الأخطاء في قراءة الخرائط، وبعض البثور والجفاف والصداع، ولكن الجميع تمكنوا من خوضها. كانت المكافأة معسكرًا على قمة جبل أعطانا إطلالة رائعة على المناظر الطبيعية من حولنا. نعمنا أيضًا بليلة باردة جدًا مع انخفاض درجة الحرارة إلى ما يزيد قليلاً عن درجة التجمد وتكوّن طبقة لطيفة من الصقيع فوق الخيام بحلول الصباح. كان الهواء النقي والمناظر الواضحة للغاية ظروفًا مثالية لشروق الشمس وإصابتك بالذهول! وكلمة مذهل هي أقل ما يقال عن ذلك!

كان المشي في اليوم الثاني أكثر صعوبة. المزيد من الانخفاضات والارتفاعات والمزيد من الساعات. كانت الأكياس ثقيلة ومؤلمة على الأكتاف وغدت الأحذية أقل راحة على الأقدام المتعبة. ولكن لم تكن هناك شكاوى حيث انطلقت المجموعة متبعة الخريطة. في رحلة كهذه، يمكنك أحيانًا أن تنسى مدى صعوبة التسلق عندما ترى المنظر من الأعلى، ما يجعل كل شيء يستحق ذلك الشعور بالإنجاز والتقدير لما هو ظاهر أمامك. في هذا الارتفاع، كان هناك العديد من أشواط التسلق والمشاهد التي بدأت تتلاشى واحدًا تلو الآخر. هذا بصرف النظر عن شوط التسلق النهائي النهائي. بعد ما يزيد قليلاً عن 8 ساعات من المشي صعودًا وهبوطًا على الجبال، كان علينا إكمال شوط تسلق أخير. ألف درجة مؤدية من قرية ضليخل إلى موقع المخيم في أعلى التلال. الضربة القاضية النهائية من المناظر الطبيعية للطلاب. نام الجميع جيدًا في تلك الليلة.

أعطى اليوم الأخير بعض الراحة، حيث ودّع الطلاب خيامهم ومعدات الطهي، وخف العبء على كاهلهم في المرحلة الأخيرة من الرحلة وصولاً إلى نقطة النهاية. ربما منحهم الطقس ومناظر الصباح الباكر إحساسًا زائفًا بعض الشيء بالأمان مع الهبوط إلى الوديان. بدت على المسارات علامات للانجراف وكانت بعض المسارات تمتد حرفيًا على طول قمة التلال التي تتعرج باتجاه النهر أدناه. لقد أوصلتنا بعض اللحظات البسيطة والخطوات الموضوعة بعناية إلى المدينة الأخيرة، حيث كنا على موعد مع مشهد الحافلة الصغيرة وهي تتلوى عبر جموع السكان المحليين مع شعور بالارتياح من الطلاب. اكتملت الرحلة وعرفوا جميعًا أنه يمكنهم الاسترخاء في النهاية، والاستحمام.

لا يحظى المرء بمثل هذه الرحلات كثيرًا عندما يكون في المدرسة. وفي بعض الأحيان، حتى البالغين لا يُقدّر لهم خوضها. حين كنت طالبًا، لم أكن محظوظًا بما يكفي لخوض واحدة، وهذا شيء أعتقد أنه كان من الممكن أن يغير نظرتي للعالم منذ سن مبكرة. اليوم نحن مدللون بفضل قدرتنا على رؤية أي ركن من أركان الكوكب، سواء كان ذلك على خرائط Google أو Youtube، ما يجعلنا نتفهم بعض المفاجآت في الذهاب إلى أماكن بعيدة مثل نيبال. ولكن، منحتنا التكنولوجيا أيضًا الفرصة للسفر إلى أبعد من ذلك والتخطيط لرحلات أكثر أمانًا وقابلية للوصول من الأجيال التي سبقتنا. ليس لدي شك في أن هذه الرحلة غيرت طلابنا، الأشخاص الذين التقوا بهم على طول الطريق، والفرق الصارخ بين الحياة التي عاشوها بالمقارنة مع حياتهم، والمناظر الطبيعية المذهلة التي تمكنوا من رؤيتها بأعينهم. التقطتُ مئات الصور في هذه الرحلة وصوّرت مقاطع كثيرة أيضًا لإعداد تسجيل فيديو. يمكنكم مشاهدة كل ذلك للحصول على فكرة عما كان عليه الأمر، ولكنه لن يمنحك الصورة الكاملة. لن تشعر بالدهشة التي يمحنها الوقوفُ أمام الجبال المغطاة بالثلوج التي يزيد ارتفاعها عن ستة آلاف متر، أو الدهشة التي تنتاب المرءَ من رؤية الأطفال في الشارع يلعبون بألعاب بسيطة لا تكلف شيئًا، والابتسامة تملأ وجوههم من الأذن إلى الأذن رغم ذلك. المنظور هو كل شيء. إن مشاهدة مقطع فيديو كفيلة بأن تغيّر رأيك. إن رؤية جزء مختلف من العالم بأم عينيك يمكن أن تغيّر ما أنت عليه.

مقطع فيديو

طلاب الأكاديمية يسافرون إلى نيبال

شاهد التجارب المدهشة التي مر بها طلابنا في نيبال

 

المزيد من الصور لرحلتنا إلى نيبال

المزيد من القصص

X

doe

Duke of Edinburgh Expedition

Nepal - February 2020

Education is important. We all know this, but, as hard as we might try, not everything can be taught in a class room. Sometimes you need to step out in to the great outdoors and immerse yourself in to the places you have only read about or seen in pictures. 

Our trip to Nepal in February of 2020 had one of the most uneasy starts to travelling I have ever experienced. With the beginning of the Corona pandemic starting to fill the news, suddenly everyone was starting to take this global situation a lot more seriously, and it was starting to disrupt travelling to some countries. Another school trip to Japan had already fallen victim to worries from parents about flying internationally, and this started to affect our sign up as we really didn’t know how this was going to play out at the time. In the end, enough students were still signed on for the trip for us to go forward and depart. The trip was happening and we needed to pack. 

An early morning departure saw all of the families and staff meet at the airport, including our guide Malcolm who had flown in from the UK to assess the students along their journey. Malcolm, a genuine gentle giant with stacks of experience was one of those characters who just had a calming effect on those around him. Being able to meet him at the start of the trip clearly helped parents feel more confident about sending their children off to Nepal to complete their mission. 

The flight was uneventful, the usual combination of faces glued to phone screens and earphones wedged in to ears and before we knew it we were soon straight through customs and walking towards our minibus to take us to the hotel. The arrivals door of Kathmandu airport has a huge window that you walk towards as you exit the airport and there were hundreds of faces pressed up to the glass looking for friends or loved ones. At the time, I joked that it looked like a scene from a zombie film, which in hindsight was probably not the best joke to make in the beginning of a pandemic, but I am a student of film and the similarity was uncanny. It was brilliant to see the students looking around taking in all of the bustle and chaos of the scene. Even the journey in to the centre of Kathmandu was an eye opening experience for them as the driver threaded the minibus though gaps in the traffic that were barely big enough for a bicycle. This is Kathmandu. 

The first day started with a walk around the maze of streets that make up the centre of Kathmandu. Taking in all of the shops crammed in to the network of alleyways and narrow roads and the many street vendors trying to sell anything from wooly hats to guitars. Despite the bustle of every day life, Kathmandu was strangely quiet compared to my previous visit. Both Mrs Raynor and I noticed the lack of tourists around the city and it was clear that people were not travelling as much as usual. After getting our bearings, we returned to the garden of the hotel where the trip organizers had brought all of the equipment the students would need for the trip. Here they practiced putting up the tents and setting up the cooking equipment, looking at the maps and marking out the journey as the guides helped them plot their course and the water stops available along the way.  

Once all of the equipment was squared away and we were settled with the route it was time for a challenge. Who can get the best deal! Take a group of students who are used to strutting around some of the biggest and most posh shopping malls in the world and send them in to the depths of the Kathmandu shopping jungle where bartering is the only language you need. This was going to be fun! 

When we all sat down back at the hotel some the stories were hilarious. Some clearly had a great ability to haggle and get great deals, some though, clearly had a lot to learn about shopping. 

A quick briefing from Malcolm about what to expect the next day and it was bed time. The trip was to start in the morning and a good nights sleep was essential. 

An early bus journey through Kathmandu and out to the countryside gave us glimpses of rural life and what Nepal had in store for us. Hills and mountains started to appear through the haze on the horizon and the landscape started to open up to an impressive vista of green. After a few hours we were out and and putting our packs on ready for the first leg of the hike. To say that it was beautiful and peaceful would be an understatement. The fresh air and greenery, partnered with the altitude gave us a perfect location to hike. The weather was playing nice too. 

The first day took just over 5hrs, we covered 10.6km and it gave the students a glimpse of what this trip was all about. There were some map reading errors, some blisters, dehydration and some headaches, but everyone made it. The reward was a camp at the top of a mountain which gave us a spectacular view over the landscape around us. It also gave us a pretty cold night with the temperature dropping to just above freezing and putting a nice layer of frost over the tents by the morning. The crisp air and crystal clear view were perfect conditions for sun rise and wow! Stunning is putting it mildly!  

The hike for day two was going to be tougher. More elevation drops and gains and more hours. The bags felt heavier on achy shoulders and the shoes felt less forgiving on tired feet. But there were no complaints as the group set off following the map. On a trek like this you can sometimes forget how hard a climb was when you see the view from the top, making everything worth it for that sense of achievement and appreciation for what is laid out in front of you. On this hike there were so many climbs and views it all started to blur in to one. That is, apart from the final climb. After just over 8 hours of walking up and down mountains, there was one final climb to complete. One thousand steps leading up from the village of Dhulikhel to the camp site at the top of the hills. A final knockout blow from the landscape to the students. Everyone slept well that night. 

The last day gave some relief as the students said goodbye to carrying their tents and cooking equipment, lightening the load for the last leg of the journey and letting them get on with getting to the end point. The weather and early morning views perhaps gave them a slightly false sense of security as the path descended in to the valleys. Tracks showed signs of washouts and some of the paths were literally along the top of ridges that snaked towards the river below. Some sketchy moments and carefully placed steps got us through to the final town where the sight of the minibus snaking through the locals was met with a sense of relief from the students. The journey was complete and they all knew they could finally relax. And have a shower. 

Trips like this don’t come around often when you’re at school. Sometimes not even as an adult. As a student I was never lucky enough to go on one and it’s something that I think could have really changed my outlook on the world from an early age. Today we are spoilt with being able to see any corner of the planet, whether it be on Google maps or Youtube, effectively taking some of the surprise out of going to far away places like Nepal. However, technology has also given us the opportunity to travel further and plan trips that are safer and more accessible than the generations before us could. I have no doubt that this trip changed our students. The people they met along the way, the stark difference between the lives they got a glimpse of compared to their own and the stunning landscapes that they got to see with their own eyes. I took hundreds of photos on this trip and I also filmed a lot to make a video. You could watch that to get an idea of what it was like, but it won’t give you the full picture. You won’t have that sense of wonder you get from standing in front of snow capped mountains that are over six thousand meters tall, or the wonder you get from seeing children in the street playing with simple toys that cost nothing, yet they are smiling from ear to ear. Perspective is everything. Seeing a video can change your mind. Seeing a different part of the world with your own eyes can change who you are. 

Trailer Video

The Academy students travel to Nepal

Watch the amazing experiences our students had in Nepal

 

More Photos of Our Nepal Trip

More Stories

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm