مرحبا بكم في المدرسة الثانوية

نرحّب ترحيبًا حارًا جدًا بالعام الدراسي الجديد في أكاديمية ويلينجتون، الخيل. ويسعدني تمامًا أن أكون هنا معكم ونحن نبدأ عامًا مثيرًا من النمو والتميز والطموح. وهناك شيء واحد مؤكد، وهو أن التعليم قد تطور خلال الأشهر الستة الماضية، وسوف نأخذ أفضل أجزاء هذا التطور ونواصل البناء على ما نفخر به، أكاديميًا وبصورة شاملة.

بالنظر إلى العام المقبل، فإن أولوياتنا داخل المدرسة الثانوية متجذرة بقوة في البناء على نجاحنا. وهذا يعني تقييم الجوانب التي تسير على ما يرام والاستمرار في البناء على جميع جوانب التدريس والتعلم والتنمية الشخصية والاجتماعية لطلابنا. وأحد المجالات التي نشعر حيالها بالحماس تحديدًا توسيعُ المسارات في Post 16 ودمج مواد BTEC الجديدة لدينا، ما يضمن حصول جميع الطلاب على فرصة للوصول إلى التعليم الذي يناسب تطلعاتهم واحتياجاتهم. وأنا حريص بالتحديد على تضمين هذه المواد في عروض الأكاديمية لأنها دورات رائعة حقًا ولها روابط مبتكرة مع الصناعة والمجتمع الأوسع.

علاوة على ذلك، سنبحث عن فرصة عبر المرحلة الثانوية للطلاب لتطوير مهاراتهم في تنظيم المشاريع والمؤسسات من خلال التطبيق على سيناريوهات الحياة الواقعية في الدروس عبر جميع المراحل الرئيسية. وسنواصل البناء على الشراكة مع التعلم عالي الأداء (HPL)، مع التمسك بالاعتقاد بأن كل طفل يمكن أن ينجح، وكسر السقف الزجاجي لتصنيف الطلاب حسب القدرة، وتوقّع الأداء العالي من الجميع والبناء عليه بشكل منهجي.

هذا هو الموضع الذي تشكّل فيه الشراكة بين المنزل والمدرسة علاقة مهمة حقًا، فالبيئة المنزلية مهمة في السعي لتحقيق النجاح. وسيزدهر الأطفال الذين يأتون من منازل تسودها المحادثة بين البالغين والأطفال، وحيث تكون لديهم كتب لقراءتها وألعاب للعبها والمساعدة في تنمية الشخصية، فهذه التفاعلات تعزز تعلمهم في الفصل الدراسي. تؤمن فلسفة التعلم عالي الأداء (HPL) بأن الإنجاز العالي والفضول مرتبطان، ما يمكّن أطفالنا من بناء التعاطف وتشجيع التعاون وتوقع أنه يمكنهم تحقيق الكثير. وهذا شيء سنشجعه بنشاط في الفصول الدراسية، وفي المجال الرياضي، وفي الإنتاج المدرسي والفرص الأخرى التي لا تعد ولا تحصى في الأكاديمية، ونتطلع إلى العمل معكم كآباء لتعزيز هذا في المنزل. وسواء أكنت جديدًا في عائلة الأكاديمية أو والدًا لطالب عائد، يرجى قضاء بعض الوقت في قراءة دليل الوالدين (مرفق بهذا الخطاب) لأنه يحتوي على ثروة من المعلومات لمساعدتك في دعم طفلك في تعليمه.

ثمة تركيز مهم آخر في الأكاديمية هذا العام، وهو ضمان سعادة الطلاب والآباء والموظفين لدينا. فالسعادة جزء أساسي من التعليم، وتظهر الأبحاث وجود علاقة مباشرة بين سعادة الطفل في المدرسة وجوانب سلوكه. يمكننا جميعًا أن نتذكر أيام المدرسة والتجارب التي جعلتنا سعداء وما جعلنا غير سعداء، فأطفالنا يقضون ما يقرب من 20000 ساعة في المدرسة طوال حياتهم المدرسية (باستثناء المناهج الدراسية) ومن ثم فإن سعادتهم مهمة. لذلك، سنركز على السعادة والرفاهية، ما يضمن حصول مجتمع مدرستنا على فرصة داخل الفصل وخارجه لتكوين الذكريات وبناء العلاقات التي تجعلها مُرضية حقًا.

 

جيما ثورنلي

مديرة ثانوية

X

gemma

Welcome to Secondary School

A very warm welcome to the new academic year at Wellington Academy, Al Khail.  I am absolutely delighted to be here with you as we embark on an exciting year of growth, excellence and aspiration.  One thing is for sure, education has evolved over the last 6 months and we will take the best parts of that evolution and continue to build on the provision we pride ourselves on, both academically and holistically.

Looking ahead to the year, our priorities within the secondary school are rooted firmly in building on our success.  This means evaluating what is working well and continuing to build on all aspects of teaching, learning and the personal and social development of our students.  One area that we are particularly excited about is the expansion of the pathways at Post 16 and the integration of our new BTEC subjects, ensuring that all students have the opportunity to access education that suits their aspiration and need.  I am particularly keen to see these subjects embed into The Academy offering as they are truly fantastic courses with innovative links to industry and the wider community. 

Furthermore, we will be looking at opportunity across secondary for students to develop their entrepreneurial and enterprise skills through application to real life scenarios in lessons across all key stages.  We will continue to build on the partnership with High Performance Learning (HPL), upholding the belief that every child can succeed, breaking the glass ceiling of categorising students by ability, and instead expecting high performance from everyone and systematically building towards it.

This is where the home-school partnership is a really significant relationship, as the home environment is important in the quest for success.  Children who come from homes where there is conversation between adults and children, where they have books to read, games to play and have help with character development will thrive, as these interactions further fuel their learning in the classroom.  The HPL philosophy believes that high achievement and curiosity are linked, enabling our children to build empathy, encourage collaboration and an expectation that they can achieve highly.  This is something that we will actively encourage in the classroom, on the sports field, in the school productions and the other countless extra-curricular opportunities at The Academy, and we look forward to working with you as parents to reinforce this at home.  Whether you are new to The Academy family or a parent of a returning student, please do take some time to read the parent handbook (enclosed with this letter) as it has a wealth of information to help you support your child with their education.

Another important focus this year at The Academy is ensuring the happiness of our students, parents and staff.  Happiness is a fundamental part of education, and research shows a direct relationship between a child’s happiness at school and aspects of their behaviours.  We can all remember our school days and the experiences that made us happy and what made us unhappy, our children spend approximately 20,000 hours in school throughout their school career (excluding extracurricular) and so their happiness is important.  Therefore, we will focus on happiness and wellbeing, ensuring that our school community have opportunity both in and out of the classroom to make memories and build relationships that make them truly fulfilled.

 

Gemma Thornley  

Secondary Principal  

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm